Boss Engira Bhaskaran (2010) - Music Review - Yuvan Shankar Raja

Boss Engira Bhaskaran - Music Review
Yuvan Shankar Raja - Na. Muthukumar - Rajesh: the trio had clearly demonstrated their skills and mastery over their arenas in ‘Siva Manasula Sakthi’. The songs were engrossing as it kept everyone heeding to its tracks over and again. ‘Oru Kal Oru Kannadi’ still keeps ringing over everyone’s track lists for its best music and spellbinding lyrics. This time, the same team strikes back with ‘Boss Engira Baskaran’ that more off mediocre tunes...

01 - Ada Boss Boss

Singers: Satyan
Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar

A lighthearted introduction of the hero who conforms to the present ‘college-goers’ tradition. Delightful arrangement of live percussions adds easy gaiety to the song. Based on the Karaharapriya scale with the lightest touch of Harikamboji, this song is sunny-especially the two music interludes before the charanams and the neat use of the ‘ma’ swara.

02 - Yaar Indha Pennthan

Singers: Haricharan
Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar
Cherry-pick of this album as this song will sweep you on your senses. The decorous solo melody has captivating lyrics and Yuvan has played it mildly on instrumentals, enhancing the prominence of lyrics. Haricharan croons every line with an intense emotion and has taken every minute pause with more focus. The interludes played on flute-strings and accompanying beats on percussions offers more enhancements to the song.  What a lovingly spaced out song in terms of rhythms! You are able to savor the lyrics of the bemused lover boy as well as the Natabairavi raga used here. Haricharan has another hit on his hands (after ‘thuli thuli’ from Paiyaa). Again the interludes –from the keyboards, flute and strings are so soothing- and the first one, one and a half minutes into the song that plays upon the notes ‘sa ga ga ri ni sa’ and ‘pa dha ni sa’ is very pleasing.

03 - Thatthi Thaavum

Singers: Karthik
Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar

Indipop, eh? This is an amusing but endearing piece that takes off on a rather straight Kiravani scale. The ‘jazz’ like first interlude and the comical second one (remember ‘Iragai Pola’ from ‘Naan Mahaan Alla?’), the whistling and Karthik’s stylized singing all pile up impishness.

04 - Ayile Ayile

Singers: Vijay Prakash
Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar

Mmmm! This song is a mini manual on the joys of kissing! The different- sounding music bits are suitably airy, but one wishes the drums were a little subdued to relish all the tiny Karaharapriya ‘sangatis’ strewn all through this song. Surprise, Vijay Prakash comes off almost like Yuvan here! With aesthetic visuals, this song can take off.

05 - Mama Mama

Singers: Vijay Yesudas, Swetha
Lyricist: Na. Muthukumar

Finally, Na. Muthukumar tries highlighting his presence with a feet-tapping fast beat Kuthu number. The lyrics are grasping to senses and beats are vivifying. With Aarya and Nayanthara rocking the floors with their best, audiences will have a blast in theatres. Though the song starts off with a Sankarabaranam bit, the song appears to switch gear into Harikamboji. If it is so, then it must be ranked with one of the many lovely Harikamboji pieces that Ilayaraja has turned out. Peppy and well-rendered, this ‘courtship’ song has suitably subdued thavil and native drum accompaniment. Raja fans will like it.


This album, though it leans well towards the Ilayaraja ‘paani’, still captures young hearts with its mild self-mocking tone. A smile-worthy album and a neat departure from the usual Yuvan style.


Post a Comment