Vaanam Soundtrack / Album by Yuvan Shankar Raja

While Krish worked with composer M. M. Keeravani for Vedam's score, Yuvan Shankar Raja was approached and assigned as the music director of Vaanam to produce original songs and score, owing to his friendship with lead actor Silambarasan, who recommended him. In a novel attempt, the song "Evan Di Unna Pethan" was separately released as a single track to promote and popularize the film. The track was initially planned to be launched in London, but after several complications and delays, it was officially unveiled on November 28, 2010 at the Citi Center, Chennai, four months ahead of the actual audio launch.

While the original soundtrack consisted of eight tracks, the Vaanam soundtrack featured only five tracks, including the earlier released single. The entire soundtrack album was finally launched on 21 March 2011 at the The Residency Towers in Chennai in a simple manner. Na. Muthukumar had penned lyrics for three songs, while the other two songs ("Evan Di Unna Pethan" and "Cable Raja") were penned by the singers themselves. Film composer Srikanth Deva had lent his voice for the fifth song, collaborating with Yuvan Shankar for the first time.

The tracks received mixed reviews from professional, while the "Evan Di Unna Pethan" song in particular received good response. Behindwoods gave 3 out of 5 citing that "Vaanam can be regarded as one of the Yuvan’s better composition and it is sure to make high waves now. While "Evandi Unna Pethan", "Vaanam" and "Who Am I" touches the surpassing degrees on different styles, "Cable Raja" and "No Money" caters to the tastes of mass audiences." Rediff gave 2.5 on 5 stating that "like some of Yuvan's most recent albums, Vaanam too, scores in some areas: the number "Vaanam" and "Who am I", further adding that the rest "fall into the Yuvan template." Southdreamz wrote that "on the whole, the album of Vaanam is a power-packed presentation by Yuvan Shankar Raja. As said by Yuvan he has given his heart and soul for composing the tunes and within first listen itself you will find some uniqueness in the album."

All lyrics written by Na. Muthukumar, except Evandi Unna Pethan & Cable Raja Song where as "Evandi Unna Pethan" penned by Silambarasan & Yuvan Shankar Raja, "Cable Raja" by Lawrence & Abhishek.


Track No
Song Name
Evandi Unna Pethan Simbu, Yuvan Shankar Raja
Simbu, Yuvan
Vaanam Yuvan Shankar Raja
Na Muthukumar
Cable Raja Abhishek, Lawrence
Abhishek, Lawrence
Who Am I Benny Dayal
Na Muthukumar
No Money No Honey Simbu, Andrea, Srikanth Deva
Na Muthukumar


Post a Comment